Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013

The Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013 will be started from 9th March 2013 at Malaysian City Ipoh. This Tournament is a field hockey event and its 1st edition played in 1983 which won by Australian hockey team by defeating Pakistan field hockey team. In 2013 this hockey event will be played from 9 to 17 March 2013, Six Hockey playing Nation’s participating in that hockey tournament which are: Pakistan, India, Australia, Newzealand, Korea and Malaysia.

Newzealand – 2012 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Champion

Newzealand Hockey team is the defending champion of Azlan Shah cup 2012, they beat Argentina in final match by 1: 0 goals. Indian hockey team got third position after defeating Great Britain by 3: 1 goals. Newzealand team played 6 group stage matches and won 4 of them and 2 matches they lose.

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2013 Format

Six countries are participating in that hockey event, every team will play 5 matches at group stage and after group matches top two teams of group will play for final which is played on 17 March 2013. Last two teams of group will play for 5th position match and 3rd and 4rth place teams play for Bronze Medal. 3 matches will be played on every day.

Sultan Azlan Shah Cup History

Australian hockey team most title winner team they won 6 times and Indian hockey team won this title 5 times and Pakistan won that title 3 times.

Sultan Azlan cup teams records
Team Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal Total
Australia 6 2 3 11
India 5 1 5 11
Pakistan 3 6 2 11
Korea 2 4 2 8
Germany 2 3 1 6
Argentina 1 1 0 2
Great Britain 1 0 2 3
Netherlands 1 0 0 1
Newzealand 1 0 4 5
Malaysia 0 3 1 4

2013 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup Schedule

Three matches will be played on opening day of event, Pakistan vs New Zealand, Australia vs India and Malaysia vs Korea. 2nd day matches: Aus vs PAK, Kor vs Ind and Mal vs NZ. Day 3 matches: Korea v New zealand, India v Pakistan and Malaysia v Australia. Day 4 Matches: Aus v Kor, NZ v Ind and Malaysia vs Pakistan. Day 5 matches: Korea v Pakistan, Australia vs Pakistan and India vs Malaysia. After these group matches classification matches will be played.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *